Signed Pulcinellopedia (Piccola) by Luigi Serafini… WANT

Came across this stunning signed copy of Luigi Serafini’s Pulcinellopedia (Piccola) tonight while poking around the web…

Not only are signed Serafini books already extremely rare, this one – which is inscribed to a fellow architect – has Serafini’s own interpretation of a skyline sketched on the page.  To be honest, in all the research I’ve done (and we’re talking many MANY hours of research here), I have never seen any signed Serafini items that weren’t signed as part of a limitation – in other words, aside from the first edition of the Codex Seraphinianus (4000 copies) and the brand new Storie Naturali (660 copies), this is the only signed Serafini item that I have ever seen come up for sale.  Others exist, for sure – Serafini isn’t a Salingeresque recluse, and a commenter on this very blog has even boasted of getting his copy of the Codex signed at a gallery exhibition… but no one seems to be in a big hurry to sell them.  Throw in the original sketch (and consider that Serafini doesn’t exactly set up a table to whip these out at Comic-Con every year), and this is easily the most unique Serafini book I have ever laid my eyes on.

The mere sight of this copy – which costs a cool $1850 – had me digging through my collection deciding which books I could manage to part with in order to buy this book.  Unfortunately, it’s just too much money for me, and I’d have to sell off too much.  It’s times like these when I realize that I’d rather have six $300 books than one $1800 book on my shelves.  And there are certainly worse predicaments in this world than having to slog through life with an… ugh, it even pains me to say… unsigned copy of the Pulcinellopedia.  But, given how unlikely I am ever to secure a signed copy of this book, this is one book that is really difficult not to pursue.

6 Responses to “Signed Pulcinellopedia (Piccola) by Luigi Serafini… WANT”


  1. 1 KJK::Hyperion November 6, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    a commenter on this very blog has even boasted of getting his copy of the Codex signed at a gallery exhibition…

    that’d be me. It’d be just wrong to sell something that has my name on it

  2. 3 chancepress November 6, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    also meant to say – thanks for posting that pic… that’s really something.

  3. 4 stefani May 20, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    i love it! He’s such a mysterious character.

  4. 5 Damian Siekonic July 1, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    I’ve got a copy of Pulcinellopedia with the slip cover for sale for $650 if interested.

  5. 6 Matt Bluemink March 31, 2015 at 2:06 pm

    What I would give for a copy of this…


Leave a Reply

